Skip to content

How to apply to study in Tajikistan from Uzbekistan

  • The route to a bachelor’s degree in Tajikistan with an Uzbek school certificate: language year.

    Source: ntc.tj (opens in a new tab) · not checked yet

Data read from the sources: 17 September 2026

What documents and grades do you need to study in Tajikistan?

Admission in Tajikistan runs as a competition on entrance examinations, and a foreign attestat first has to obtain the certificate of equivalence. The right to register for the centralised examinations is given to foreign citizens resident in Tajikistan, and only for fee-paying specialties, so an applicant arriving from abroad deals with the university directly. The main language of instruction is Tajik. An Uzbek citizen enters visa-free for 30 days, but a study stay needs the O1 visa before travelling and registration within 10 working days after arrival.

Bachelor’s

With an Uzbek attestat (11 years)

Language year

No official Tajik page says that an Uzbek 11-year attestat gets you in directly. The Law admits holders of secondary general education by competition on entrance examinations, the document has to go through the equivalence check, and the main language of instruction is the state language, Tajik. The safest plan is therefore to budget for a language year: the consular rules provide for exactly that, with preparatory courses under the O1 visa and language courses under the O2 visa. If the university confirms in writing that it admits you directly to a Russian- or English-taught programme, the language year is not needed.

Documents

  • School certificate

    Table 2.1 of the National Testing Centre applicant guide: a person who has finished the 11th grade submits the attestat of secondary general education together with a copy of it.

    Probably right

  • Academic transcript

    The guide names a supplement only for vocational and higher-education diplomas, not for the school attestat. An Uzbek attestat is issued with its grade supplement, so bring both and let the admissions office say which of them it files.

  • Passport

    Table 2.1, identity document: a foreign citizen aged 16 or over submits a foreign citizen's passport, or a stateless person's certificate, or another document that counts as an identity document under Tajik law, together with a copy and a residence certificate carrying a photograph and a seal.

    Probably right

  • Apostille

    The HCCH status table shows both countries as parties to the 1961 Apostille Convention — in force for Tajikistan on 31 October 2015 and for Uzbekistan on 15 April 2012 — so an Uzbek education document is apostilled at home rather than put through consular legalisation.

    Probably right

  • PhotographOptional

    The guide does not list passport photographs as a separate item; it asks instead for certificates that carry a photograph and a seal. Bring photographs anyway — the university sets what it needs at enrolment.

  • Certified translationOptional

    No official Tajik page read for this file says in which language a foreign education document must be submitted. The Main Consular Directorate page only explains consular legalisation and its fee, so ask the university and the ministry whether a notarised translation is needed before you pay for one.

  • Financial statementOptional

    No official Tajik page read for this file asks a student for proof of funds or names an amount: the consular study-visa page describes the O1 and O2 categories without listing documents. Budget for tuition and living costs and ask the embassy what it wants to see.

Sources: ntc.tj (opens in a new tab), hcch.net (opens in a new tab), consular.tj (opens in a new tab) · read from the pages 17 September 2026 · not checked yet

Tests

  • Teaching is in TajikOptional

    Article 7 of the Law on Education: the main language of instruction in the educational institutions of the Republic of Tajikistan is the state language, and the study of the state language is compulsory in every educational institution. The Law names no test and no level for an applicant, so the proof of language is the university's to set.

Source: ntc.tj (opens in a new tab) · read from the page 17 September 2026 · probably right

Other requirements

  • Admission by competition on the results of entrance examinations

    Article 13 of the Law on Higher Professional and Postgraduate Professional Education: admission to a higher professional education institution is made on the application of persons holding secondary general, primary vocational or secondary vocational education, by competition on the results of the entrance examinations, except in the cases the legislation provides; where the Law itself does not settle it, the Government sets the single admission procedure.

  • Certificate of recognition or equivalence of the foreign education document

    Row 3 of table 2.1: a person who finished school or a vocational institution abroad submits the certificate of recognition and (or) determination of the equivalence of the foreign state's education document of the relevant level, plus a copy. The note under the table limits this to documents of foreign states that have no bilateral or multilateral treaty with Tajikistan on the recognition and equivalence of education documents, so check first whether Uzbekistan is covered by such a treaty.

  • Who may register for the centralised entrance examinations

    The guide lists who has the right to register for the centralised entrance examinations. Among them are foreign citizens and stateless persons resident in Tajikistan who finished a foreign school or vocational institution and hold both the education document and the certificate of equivalence — and only for fee-paying specialties. An applicant who does not yet live in Tajikistan is not on that list, so ask the university directly how it admits you.

  • Study visa: category O1 for entering a programme, category O2 for language and research stays

    The Main Consular Directorate page: a category O1 visa is issued to foreign citizens and stateless persons travelling to Tajikistan to obtain education and to enter institutions delivering secondary, technical and vocational or higher education programmes, student exchange programmes and preparatory courses, and to study as postgraduates or doctoral candidates; a category O2 visa is issued to those coming for study, scientific research and language or professional development courses.

  • Visa-free for 30 days, but a study stay needs the visa before you travel

    The Main Consular Directorate entry page lists Uzbekistan as visa-free for 30 days on every kind of passport, and then says plainly that foreign citizens entering Tajikistan for more than 30 days for the purpose of education must hold a visa matching the purpose of the trip before travelling to Tajikistan.

  • Register with the authorities within 10 working days of arrival

    The same page says foreign citizens under the visa-free regime and those holding visas must register with the internal affairs authorities of Tajikistan within ten working days, apart from citizens of countries exempted from registration for set periods under treaties.

  • Nostrification is what the Law calls this equivalence checkOptional

    The Law on Education defines nostrification as the determination of the equivalence of the education documents of persons who graduated from educational institutions of foreign states or from international organisations.

  • The examination language and the foreign-language subtest are the applicant's choiceOptional

    The guide says the applicant freely chooses the language of the examination and the place of sitting it, and is also free in choosing the foreign-language subtest of parts A and B: English, German, French or Arabic.

  • Bank receipt for the examination service feeOptional

    Table 2.1 asks every applicant except those exempted for the receipt number of the payment of the service fee, made at one of the listed banks or through their mobile applications. The page does not name the amount.

  • Russian and English are taught, but the Law does not say programmes are delivered in themOptional

    Article 7 of the Law on Education also says that the teaching of foreign languages, among them Russian and English, is organised in all educational institutions. That is about languages as subjects: the Law does not state that degree programmes are delivered in them, so ask the university whether your programme is taught in Tajik, Russian or English.

  • Medical specialties: a published list of diseases bars admissionOptional

    The National Testing Centre publishes a list of diseases whose sufferers have no right to study at medical education institutions, specialty code by specialty code. If you are applying to medicine in Tajikistan, expect a medical examination against that list.

Sources: ntc.tj (opens in a new tab), consular.tj (opens in a new tab) · read from the pages 17 September 2026 · probably right

Master’s

Magistratura is the second level of higher professional education and you enter it with a completed bachelor or specialist diploma. Recognition of a foreign diploma is settled in the procedure the Government establishes and confirmed by a certificate from the authorised body. The documents, the visa and the registration are the same as at bachelor level, and the main language of instruction is Tajik.

With an Uzbek attestat (11 years)

Straight into the first year

An 11-year attestat on its own does not open a master programme: you need a bachelor or specialist diploma first. With that diploma no bridging year is required — only the recognition of the diploma and the question of the teaching language remain.

Documents

  • Diploma

    Table 2.1 of the applicant guide asks a graduate of a vocational institution for the diploma together with its supplement and copies of both; the guide itself is written for the bachelor-level intake and does not name a higher-education diploma separately, so confirm the master document list with the university.

    Probably right

  • Academic transcript

    The guide names a supplement only for vocational and higher-education diplomas, not for the school attestat. An Uzbek attestat is issued with its grade supplement, so bring both and let the admissions office say which of them it files.

  • Passport

    Table 2.1, identity document: a foreign citizen aged 16 or over submits a foreign citizen's passport, or a stateless person's certificate, or another document that counts as an identity document under Tajik law, together with a copy and a residence certificate carrying a photograph and a seal.

    Probably right

  • Apostille

    The HCCH status table shows both countries as parties to the 1961 Apostille Convention — in force for Tajikistan on 31 October 2015 and for Uzbekistan on 15 April 2012 — so an Uzbek education document is apostilled at home rather than put through consular legalisation.

    Probably right

  • PhotographOptional

    The guide does not list passport photographs as a separate item; it asks instead for certificates that carry a photograph and a seal. Bring photographs anyway — the university sets what it needs at enrolment.

  • Certified translationOptional

    No official Tajik page read for this file says in which language a foreign education document must be submitted. The Main Consular Directorate page only explains consular legalisation and its fee, so ask the university and the ministry whether a notarised translation is needed before you pay for one.

  • Financial statementOptional

    No official Tajik page read for this file asks a student for proof of funds or names an amount: the consular study-visa page describes the O1 and O2 categories without listing documents. Budget for tuition and living costs and ask the embassy what it wants to see.

Sources: ntc.tj (opens in a new tab), hcch.net (opens in a new tab), consular.tj (opens in a new tab) · read from the pages 17 September 2026 · not checked yet

Tests

  • Teaching is in TajikOptional

    Article 7 of the Law on Education: the main language of instruction in the educational institutions of the Republic of Tajikistan is the state language, and the study of the state language is compulsory in every educational institution. The Law names no test and no level for an applicant, so the proof of language is the university's to set.

Source: ntc.tj (opens in a new tab) · read from the page 17 September 2026 · probably right

Minimum grades and years of school

  • A completed Bachelor’s degree

    The Law on Education defines magistratura as the second level of higher professional education, which awards a state-standard diploma to graduates of higher education institutions after state examinations or the defence of a master thesis — so a completed first higher-education degree is what you enter it with.

Source: ntc.tj (opens in a new tab) · read from the page 17 September 2026 · probably right

Other requirements

  • Recognition of a foreign higher-education document is decided by the Government's procedure

    Article 29 of the Law on Higher Professional and Postgraduate Professional Education: the recognition and determination of the equivalence of foreign states' documents on higher professional and postgraduate education is settled in the procedure the Government of Tajikistan establishes, and is confirmed by a certificate issued by the authorised body.

  • Study visa: category O1 for entering a programme, category O2 for language and research stays

    The Main Consular Directorate page: a category O1 visa is issued to foreign citizens and stateless persons travelling to Tajikistan to obtain education and to enter institutions delivering secondary, technical and vocational or higher education programmes, student exchange programmes and preparatory courses, and to study as postgraduates or doctoral candidates; a category O2 visa is issued to those coming for study, scientific research and language or professional development courses.

  • Visa-free for 30 days, but a study stay needs the visa before you travel

    The Main Consular Directorate entry page lists Uzbekistan as visa-free for 30 days on every kind of passport, and then says plainly that foreign citizens entering Tajikistan for more than 30 days for the purpose of education must hold a visa matching the purpose of the trip before travelling to Tajikistan.

  • Register with the authorities within 10 working days of arrival

    The same page says foreign citizens under the visa-free regime and those holding visas must register with the internal affairs authorities of Tajikistan within ten working days, apart from citizens of countries exempted from registration for set periods under treaties.

  • Nostrification is what the Law calls this equivalence checkOptional

    The Law on Education defines nostrification as the determination of the equivalence of the education documents of persons who graduated from educational institutions of foreign states or from international organisations.

  • Bank receipt for the examination service feeOptional

    Table 2.1 asks every applicant except those exempted for the receipt number of the payment of the service fee, made at one of the listed banks or through their mobile applications. The page does not name the amount.

  • Russian and English are taught, but the Law does not say programmes are delivered in themOptional

    Article 7 of the Law on Education also says that the teaching of foreign languages, among them Russian and English, is organised in all educational institutions. That is about languages as subjects: the Law does not state that degree programmes are delivered in them, so ask the university whether your programme is taught in Tajik, Russian or English.

  • Medical specialties: a published list of diseases bars admissionOptional

    The National Testing Centre publishes a list of diseases whose sufferers have no right to study at medical education institutions, specialty code by specialty code. If you are applying to medicine in Tajikistan, expect a medical examination against that list.

Sources: ntc.tj (opens in a new tab), consular.tj (opens in a new tab) · read from the pages 17 September 2026 · probably right

Which scholarships are there for study in Tajikistan?

The catalogue holds 1 scholarship for study in Tajikistan that citizens of Uzbekistan may apply for.

Which universities are there in Tajikistan?

The INTAKE catalogue holds 30 universities in Tajikistan.