How to study abroad from Uzbekistan
Applying to a university abroad from Uzbekistan, step by step: from choosing a country to the visa and the money. The tables are built from the admission rules INTAKE holds for each country, and every fact links to its source.
Data read from the sources: 7 October 2026
The plan, step by step
Choose a country and a level
A bachelor’s, a master’s or a preparatory year. Each country’s page holds its admission rules, deadlines and scholarships.
All countriesCheck the requirements against your grades
INTAKE compares your school certificate, English and budget with the published requirements of programmes for free, and shows what is missing.
Check my gradesTake the language test
Which test and which minimum a country asks for is in its rules: IELTS, TOEFL or another test for programmes taught in English, the country’s own exam for studies in its language.
Which IELTS you needGather the documents
The school certificate or diploma with its transcript, translations and the passport; an apostille where the country asks for one. The full list is on each country’s page.
Documents by countryKeep to the deadlines
Each country and each application service has dates of its own. The ones INTAKE holds are in one table, the nearest first.
Application deadlinesApply
Pick several programmes of different difficulty and apply on the university’s site or through the country’s service, such as UCAS or uni-assist.
University catalogueGet the offer
The answer comes as a letter of admission, the offer. Read its conditions and the date by which you have to reply.
Apply for the student visa
Once you hold the offer. When you may apply and how long a decision takes is published by the country’s visa authority: check its site early.
Count the money and find a scholarship
The catalogue gives each programme’s fee in the university’s currency and in soums at the Central Bank rate. Scholarships, with their conditions and dates, are in a list of their own.
Scholarships
Countries compared: after year 11, language and deadlines
Popular destinations and the other countries INTAKE holds full admission rules for. Everything is for a bachelor’s, from each country’s own rules.
| Country | After year 11 | English | Language of the country | Apostille | Nearest deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Russia | Foundation year (not compared by a person)When it appliesThe attestat is normally recognised, but teaching is in Russian: a year at the preparatory faculty is required if your Russian is short. With good Russian you can enter directly. | IELTS 6, for English-taught programmes (not compared by a person)Source: studyinrussia. | RussianSource: studyinrussia. | not stated | not in the catalogue |
| South Korea | Language year (not compared by a person)When it appliesAn 11-year attestat is short of the expected 12 years and Korean is needed anyway: the usual route is a year at a university language institute and TOPIK 3, then the bachelor programme. | IELTS 5.5 (not compared by a person)Source: studyinkorea. | TOPIK (Korean) 3 (not compared by a person)Source: studyinkorea. | requiredSource: overseas. | not in the catalogue |
| Türkiye | Straight into the first year (not compared by a person)When it appliesAn Uzbek attestat allows direct entry, but denklik from YÖK comes first and most universities want TR-YÖS. A Turkish-taught programme adds a hazırlık year if your Turkish is short. | IELTS 6 (not compared by a person)Source: studyinturkiye. | not in the catalogue | not stated | 20 February 2027, autumn intake 2027, scholarship application deadlineSource: turkiyeburslari. |
| Germany | Studienkolleg (not compared by a person)When it appliesDirect entry on an 11-year attestat is normally not possible: first a Studienkolleg and the Feststellungsprüfung, or one to two completed years at an Uzbek university. anabin and the DAAD database give the exact answer. | IELTS 6 (not compared by a person)Source: study-in-germany. | DSH (German) 2 (not compared by a person)Source: study-in-germany. | not stated | 15 January 2027, spring intake 2027Source: uni-assist. |
| United Kingdom | Foundation year (not compared by a person)When it appliesAn 11-year attestat falls short of A-level: direct year-one entry normally requires a one-year International Foundation Year, or one completed year at an Uzbek university. | IELTS 6, each section at least 5.5 (not compared by a person)Source: ucas. | not in the catalogue | not stated | 13 January 2027, autumn intake 2027, equal-consideration date, until 18:00 UK timeSource: ucas. |
| United States | Straight into the first year (not compared by a person)When it appliesAn 11-year attestat is normally enough for direct bachelor entry in the US — no foundation year. A few universities ask for a credential evaluation or a first year at a community college instead. | IELTS 6.5 (not compared by a person)Source: educationusa. | not in the catalogue | not stated | 15 January 2027, autumn intake 2027, usual Regular Decision date, each university sets its own (not compared by a person)Source: appsupport. |
| China | Foundation year (not compared by a person)When it appliesThe 11-year attestat and the language usually mean a yuke preparatory year first; with HSK 4 already in hand direct entry is possible. | IELTS 6 (not compared by a person)Source: studyinchina. | HSK (Chinese) 4 (not compared by a person)Source: studyinchina. | not stated | not in the catalogue |
| Malaysia | Foundation year (not compared by a person)When it appliesAn 11-year attestat is normally short of direct bachelor entry: a one-year Foundation programme comes first, then year one. | IELTS 6 (not compared by a person)Source: visa. | not in the catalogue | not stated | not in the catalogue |
| Kazakhstan | Straight into the first year (not compared by a person)When it appliesAn Uzbek attestat generally allows direct entry — the two school systems are comparable. A language shortfall adds the preparatory department. | IELTS 5.5 (not compared by a person)Source: enic-kazakhstan. | not in the catalogue | required (not compared by a person)Source: enic-kazakhstan. | 20 July 2027, autumn intake 2027Source: gov. |
| Poland | Straight into the first year (not compared by a person)When it appliesThe Uzbek attestat entitles you to higher education, so no bridging year is normally needed — only the NAWA recognition statement and the apostille. A Polish-taught programme still needs the preparatory year. | IELTS 6 (not compared by a person)Source: study. | not in the catalogue | requiredSource: nawa. | not in the catalogue |
| Czechia | Language yearWhen it appliesNo official Czech page says anything specific about an 11-year Uzbek attestat. Study in Czechia says only that you need completed secondary education giving access to higher education in your country and that a certificate issued abroad may need recognition. Because the source is silent, the most conservative option is taken: a Czech language preparation year at a public university first, then the bachelor programme. Ask your chosen university in writing whether your certificate allows direct entry and whether nostrification will prescribe a validation examination. | not in the catalogue | CzechSource: studyin. | requiredSource: mzv. | not in the catalogue |
| Italy | One year at a university in Uzbekistan (not compared by a person)When it appliesAn 11-year attestat falls short of Italy’s twelve-year expectation: the usual top-up is one completed year at an Uzbek university. The chosen university and the current ministerial circular set the exact requirement. | IELTS 6 (not compared by a person)Source: studyinitaly. | not in the catalogue | not stated | not in the catalogue |
| Japan | Foundation yearWhen it appliesAn 11-year attestat is short of the twelve-year rule: the MEXT-designated preparatory course must be completed before you may apply to a university at all. | IELTS 5.5Source: studyinjapan. | JapaneseSource: studyinjapan. | not stated | not in the catalogue |
| Latvia | One year at a university in UzbekistanWhen it appliesStudy in Latvia states that the secondary education certificate must correspond to the Latvian standard - it should be at least 12 years at secondary level education institution. An Uzbek 11-year attestat does not meet that, and the page does not name the bridging route, so the conservative reading is taken here: a year of university study at home, then apply with the AIC statement, which says what additional requirements must be met to achieve the required compliance. | not in the catalogue | not in the catalogue | requiredSource: hcch. | not in the catalogue |
| France | Language year (not compared by a person)When it appliesThe attestat itself is usually enough, but French at B2 is not optional: many Uzbek applicants take a one-year FLE language course first. With a B2 certificate in hand you can apply straight to year one of the licence. | IELTS 6, for English-taught programmes (not compared by a person)Source: campusfrance. | FrenchSource: campusfrance. | not stated | 15 December 2026, autumn intake 2027 (not compared by a person)Source: campusfrance. |
| Hungary | Straight into the first year (not compared by a person)When it appliesAn Uzbek attestat is generally enough for direct entry to many Hungarian universities; fields such as medicine may add an entrance examination or a preparatory year. | IELTS 6 (not compared by a person)Source: studyinhungary. | not in the catalogue | not stated | 15 January 2027, autumn intake 2027, scholarship application deadline, until 14:00 Budapest timeSource: studyinhungary. |
| Netherlands | Foundation year (not compared by a person)When it appliesAn 11-year attestat falls below Dutch VWO: the usual answer is a foundation year or one completed year at an Uzbek university. Universities of applied sciences sometimes ask for less. | IELTS 6Source: studyinnl. | not in the catalogue | not stated | 1 May 2027, autumn intake 2027Source: info. |
Deadline: the nearest bachelor’s application date in the country’s rules, with its intake and year. The country’s page has the details and the sources.
Life in the country: work, insurance, medical checks
Work during study, health insurance, medical checks, registration after arrival: what the official pages say is on each country’s page, for the topics they cover.
After year 11: the route by country
With the 11-year school certificate, what comes before the first year of a bachelor’s, by the rules of each country in the table:
- Straight into the first year
- Türkiye
An Uzbek attestat allows direct entry, but denklik from YÖK comes first and most universities want TR-YÖS. A Turkish-taught programme adds a hazırlık year if your Turkish is short.
- United States
An 11-year attestat is normally enough for direct bachelor entry in the US — no foundation year. A few universities ask for a credential evaluation or a first year at a community college instead.
- Kazakhstan
An Uzbek attestat generally allows direct entry — the two school systems are comparable. A language shortfall adds the preparatory department.
- Poland
The Uzbek attestat entitles you to higher education, so no bridging year is normally needed — only the NAWA recognition statement and the apostille. A Polish-taught programme still needs the preparatory year.
- Hungary
An Uzbek attestat is generally enough for direct entry to many Hungarian universities; fields such as medicine may add an entrance examination or a preparatory year.
- Türkiye
- Foundation year
- Russia
The attestat is normally recognised, but teaching is in Russian: a year at the preparatory faculty is required if your Russian is short. With good Russian you can enter directly.
- United Kingdom
An 11-year attestat falls short of A-level: direct year-one entry normally requires a one-year International Foundation Year, or one completed year at an Uzbek university.
- China
The 11-year attestat and the language usually mean a yuke preparatory year first; with HSK 4 already in hand direct entry is possible.
- Malaysia
An 11-year attestat is normally short of direct bachelor entry: a one-year Foundation programme comes first, then year one.
- Japan
An 11-year attestat is short of the twelve-year rule: the MEXT-designated preparatory course must be completed before you may apply to a university at all.
- Netherlands
An 11-year attestat falls below Dutch VWO: the usual answer is a foundation year or one completed year at an Uzbek university. Universities of applied sciences sometimes ask for less.
- Russia
- Studienkolleg
- Germany
Direct entry on an 11-year attestat is normally not possible: first a Studienkolleg and the Feststellungsprüfung, or one to two completed years at an Uzbek university. anabin and the DAAD database give the exact answer.
- Germany
- Language year
- South Korea
An 11-year attestat is short of the expected 12 years and Korean is needed anyway: the usual route is a year at a university language institute and TOPIK 3, then the bachelor programme.
- Czechia
No official Czech page says anything specific about an 11-year Uzbek attestat. Study in Czechia says only that you need completed secondary education giving access to higher education in your country and that a certificate issued abroad may need recognition. Because the source is silent, the most conservative option is taken: a Czech language preparation year at a public university first, then the bachelor programme. Ask your chosen university in writing whether your certificate allows direct entry and whether nostrification will prescribe a validation examination.
- France
The attestat itself is usually enough, but French at B2 is not optional: many Uzbek applicants take a one-year FLE language course first. With a B2 certificate in hand you can apply straight to year one of the licence.
- South Korea
- One year at a university in Uzbekistan
- Italy
An 11-year attestat falls short of Italy’s twelve-year expectation: the usual top-up is one completed year at an Uzbek university. The chosen university and the current ministerial circular set the exact requirement.
- Latvia
Study in Latvia states that the secondary education certificate must correspond to the Latvian standard - it should be at least 12 years at secondary level education institution. An Uzbek 11-year attestat does not meet that, and the page does not name the bridging route, so the conservative reading is taken here: a year of university study at home, then apply with the AIC statement, which says what additional requirements must be met to achieve the required compliance.
- Italy
For free: scholarships
The INTAKE catalogue holds 36 scholarships for a bachelor’s that cover the tuition in full and that citizens of Uzbekistan may apply for.
- Open Doors: Russian Scholarship Project — bachelor's track
Global Universities Association, with the Ministry of Science and Higher Education of the Russian Federation · Full tuition · Due: 1 November 2026
Source: od.globaluni. ru (opens in a new tab) · read from the page 18 September 2026 · from the official page, not compared by a person - Lester B. Pearson International Scholarship
University of Toronto · Full: tuition and living costs · Due: 6 November 2026
Source: future.utoronto. ca (opens in a new tab) · read from the page 18 September 2026 · from the official page, not compared by a person - UBC International Scholars Program
The University of British Columbia · Full: tuition and living costs · Due: 15 November 2026
Source: you.ubc. ca (opens in a new tab) · read from the page 18 September 2026 · from the official page, not compared by a person - Russian Government Scholarship (Quota) for foreign citizens
Government of the Russian Federation, administered abroad by Rossotrudnichestvo · Full: tuition and living costs · Due: 15 December 2026
Source: en.misis. ru (opens in a new tab) · read from the page 18 September 2026 · not compared by a person - Global Korea Scholarship — undergraduate degree
National Institute for International Education (NIIED), Ministry of Education of Korea · Full: tuition and living costs
Source: studyinkorea.go. kr (opens in a new tab) · read from the page 18 September 2026 · from the official page, not compared by a person - Qatar Foundation Need-Based Grant Program at Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar
Qatar Foundation / Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar · Full: tuition and living costs
Source: qatar.cmu. edu (opens in a new tab) · read from the page 18 September 2026 · from the official page, not compared by a person - AUS President's Scholarship
American University of Sharjah · Full: tuition and living costs
Source: aus.edu (opens in a new tab) · read from the page 18 September 2026 · from the official page, not compared by a person - Türkiye Bursları — Bachelor's Scholarship Program
Presidency for Turks Abroad and Related Communities (YTB) · Full: tuition and living costs
Source: turkiyeburslari.gov. tr (opens in a new tab) · read from the page 17 September 2026 · from the official page, not compared by a person
Questions about studying abroad
Can you study abroad for free?
Yes, on a scholarship: the INTAKE catalogue holds 36 scholarships for a bachelor’s that cover the tuition in full and that citizens of Uzbekistan may apply for. The conditions and dates of each are on the scholarships page.
Do you need IELTS?
It depends on the country and the language of teaching. Where the table’s countries make IELTS mandatory for a bachelor’s, the minimum goes from 5.5 to 6.5. For studies in the country’s language its own exam is asked for, for example South Korea: TOPIK (Korean) 3; Germany: DSH (German) 2; China: HSK (Chinese) 4.
What grades do you need?
The minimum grade is set by each programme, not by the country. INTAKE compares your school certificate and IELTS with the programmes’ published requirements for free and shows where you qualify and what is missing.
Can you apply after year 11?
Yes. Straight into the first year of a bachelor’s by the rules of 5 countries in the table: Türkiye, United States, Kazakhstan, Poland and Hungary. Elsewhere another route usually comes first, and each country’s page says when it can be skipped: foundation year: Russia, United Kingdom, China, Malaysia, Japan, Netherlands; Studienkolleg: Germany; language year: South Korea, Czechia, France; one year at a university in Uzbekistan: Italy, Latvia.
How much does studying abroad cost?
Each university sets its own fee. The INTAKE catalogue gives a programme’s fee a year in the university’s currency and in soums at the Central Bank rate, wherever the university publishes it.
When do you apply?
The nearest bachelor’s deadlines in the countries of the table: France: 15 December 2026 (bachelor’s, autumn intake 2027, according to campusfrance.org) (not compared by a person); United Kingdom: 13 January 2027 (bachelor’s, autumn intake 2027, according to UCAS, equal-consideration date, until 18:00 UK time); Germany: 15 January 2027 (bachelor’s, spring intake 2027, according to uni-assist). Every deadline is on the page «Application deadlines».
Which documents do you need?
In the 17 countries of the table the rules ask for the school certificate in 17, the passport in 17, translations in 17 and an apostille in 5. The full list is on each country’s page.
Do you need an agent?
Not necessarily: most universities take applications directly, on their own site or through the country’s service. INTAKE is not an agency: we take no money from universities and promise no admission.
Which countries can you apply to from Uzbekistan?
INTAKE holds admission rules of their own for 38 countries and universities in 226 countries. The list is on the countries page.
Check where you can get in
Free. No card, no calls, no phone number.